One Year to Plan a Year

Well, I IMG_0448am making it official. Today is the first day of, okay, the rest of my life, but more specifically, a year to plan a year (or more!) of traveling around the world, or RTW. (Those of you who know me know that once I set my sites on a goal, I achieve it.)

I have, consciously or unconsciously (or both), been preparing myself for years for this to happen. A few years ago I created a new career that allows me to work wherever there is an internet connection. As a freelance book editor, I get work from various publishers, including a big one in Chennai, India. I’m ready to purge most of my belongings, although I’ll keep my house in Southern Oregon for a while. But I’m ready, willing, and (finally!) able to begin the preparations that at one time seemed so daunting.

I’m already making a list of people I know around the world in Mexico, Nicaragua, Ecuador, Australia, England, and other places. This is a great way to start an itinerary, by the way! (If I know you and you are in another country, please say hello and remind me!)

I used to think I needed the safety and security of a home and community, and while those things are still valuable to me, there is so much more I want from this one brief moment of time I have called life. I can’t save the world, I can’t make a huge difference, but in my own small way, I can touch the lives of others around the world as I enrich my own. I’ve already discovered several RTW travelers, men and women, old and young, who are living their dreams. Every one of them says the same thing: it’s not as hard as it seems, once you get started.

So here it is. I’m starting. Join me?IMG_0449

~Jessica

 

 

 

 

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael Allan
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:52:50

    Jessica,you are the most strong and self motivated person I know! I believe you will make this dream a reality!! Happy Travels!

  2. Jessica Vineyard
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:56:32

    Gosh, thank you, Michael! I hope I inspire others to live their dreams, too. It’s just this one go-’round, so let’s make the most of what we have!

  3. Barbara Peeters
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 14:13:08

    I’ll enjoy watching your progress to embrace the goal of world travel for a year. Keep us posted and always take pictures…: )

  4. Jessica Vineyard
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 14:16:24

    Thanks so much, Barbara! You’ve had a pretty exciting life yourself, sister! xoxo

  5. Suz
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 19:58:04

    What a great idea! Looking forward to meeting up with you someplace!

  6. Anne Herrick Dienel
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 21:42:53

    Wow, how exciting Jessica! It will be fun to watch your journey. Funny how things we don’t necessarily chose or like down the road make sense to where we end up. Having known you for so long it is interesting to see how all the turns in the road have lead you here. You are an amazingly talented woman, thanks for blazing the trail!! (((HUGS)))

  7. Jessica Vineyard
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:49:01

    Anne, THANK YOU! I have also so appreciated your journey so far. You inspire me in more ways than you have any idea about! {{{hugs back}}}

  8. Trackback: One Year to Plan a Year | Living In Color!
  9. Jessica Vineyard
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:55:34

    Suzanne, thanks so much. And YES, I am holding you to meeting up with me somewhere in the world! As one of my top role models, you are one of the people who has inspired me to truly grab the life I want to live, and this travel is at the top of my list. Love you, sister. xoox

  10. blissedtobe
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 06:20:47

    Jessica,
    How exciting, brave, adventuresome for you. Im jealous and admire you, this is a BIG deal! Will look forward to following you on your adventures! You Go Girl!!
    Hugs!
    Deanna

  11. Jessica Vineyard
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:41:21

    Deanna, thanks so much! I am beyond excited, of course, and there is lots of planning to do. But I am making it happen. Let’s meet up somewhere in the world!

    xoxo
    Jessica

  12. blissedtobe
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 17:02:39

    Jessica,
    I would be as well! What and exciting “journey”…..after Christmas, let’s get together, Wine, coffee, a walk, whatever!
    ~Deanna
    Merry Christmas!!

  13. Ivry Glamore
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 17:04:30

    Jessica, I now you will continue providing positive energy wherever. I have always loved your ‘True To Self’ attitude.
    Love you Red!

  14. Jessica Vineyard
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 17:59:51

    Absolutely, Deanna! But I won’t be back in town until spring, so we’ll catch up then, for sure, sister! xoxo

  15. Jessica Vineyard
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 18:00:45

    Ivry, I so appreciate your kind words. I’ve always admired you, and everything I know of you is positive and upbeat. Let’s meet up somewhere in the world! ~ginormous hugs,

    ~Jessica

  16. Trackback: Top Five Reasons for Traveling Around the World | Around the World, Paleo Style
  17. Anne Herrick Dienel
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 21:00:02

    WOW, Jessica you are such a great source of inspiration to me! I admire your spirit of adventure and your passion for living life to the fullest, for making the decision to create the life you desire. I can’t wait to watch this journey unfold!!

  18. Jessica Vineyard
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 23:17:25

    Thanks, Anne! Many have inspired me. It’s nice to be in the pay-it-forward position.

Please follow me at http://vagabondqueentravels.com/

