Top Five Reasons for Traveling Around the World

Finding the “Why” in Your Deepest Desires

You have heard it before, and maybe you have even said it yourself: Some day I am going to travel the world. A few weeks ago, I woke up and realized, that day is here. The time is now. I decided to commit to traveling around the world for a year. You can read about that decision here

If you have ever taken a motivational course, you have probably heard about how important it is to solidify your “why.” Your “why” is your reason for doing anything. It is very easy to decide to do something (did you make any New Year’s resolutions?), but to see a decision reach fruition, you must have a solid, strong, and deeply felt reason that propels you toward that goal.

I seem to have a natural ability to accomplish what I set out to do. Many people ask me how I have made the dramatic life changes I have (this post is about that), but honestly, I had to stop and think about why I achieve my goals. I have realized that I practice not only the three secrets I blEurope trip June 08 114ogged about in my last post, but I also have a deep, strong, unshakable desire to reach my goals. If I am missing that part for a particular goal, it usually drops off the map. And yes, that’s happened plenty of times.

I have been writing down in my RTW notebook all the reasons I have for traveling around the world for a year (Paleo-style, I might add, but that’s a topic for the next post), and I thought it might inspire other wanna-travel-ers to begin planning their trips around the world. So, without further preamble, here they are:

5. I want to expand my adventurous side and be brave.

I had always lived a rich and colorful life. But by the time I hit 50, my life had slowed down dramatically, and I noticed that my world had gotten very small. I live in a gorgeous, artsy little town of 20,713 people (I just checked), and while I love the area, I am feeling closed in and shut off from the rest of the world. I have gotten small and safe. I am ready to step back into my natural, adventurous state of being. I want to eat new foods (Paleo as much as possible!) and smell new smells and feel new air.

4. I have wanderlust.

I have had wanderlust all my life. I went on my first international trip when I was 19. I went alone to Europe and had the time of my life. Ever since then, I have traveled as much as my budget would allow. My income is rather small, enough to support a single woman, but I am making my RTW a priority, so every unspent dollar is going into my travel fund. (More about this in another post, too.)

3. I want to meet people from all over the world.

As I mentioned, I live in a small town. It is very vanilla and safe and dramatically NOT diverse. I love people. (As Ruth Gordon says in Harold and Maude, “they’re my species.”) And there is so very much to learn from other cultures, other lifestyles, other ways of being. I cannot wait to see who I meet.

2. There are so many new experiences to be had.

Some guy I used to know taught me that experiences are far more valuable than stuff. I have taken that attitude to heart. (In fact, my teen-aged great-nephews and great-niece don’t quite appreciate that I give them experiences instead of gifts, but I know in my heart that some day they will.) I treat myself the same way. I am creating my own memories from experiences that feed my very core and will last me a  lifetime.

And my number one reason for traveling the world is:

1. I have only one life. Just one.

Yep. This is it. Just this one precious, unique, special chance I get, in all of eternity, to be consciously alive. I will never have this chance again. We all make choices that impact what our life experiences are by the end. I have chosen to mindfully, consciously, and without fear step into the world and grab whatever yummy, dirty, exciting, scary, sweaty, heart-pounding experiences I can. I relish the boring days. I rejoice in the stimulating, exciting days. And at the end of every single day I say, “I am so deeply grateful to be alive.”

What is your dream? What is your “why”? Please share in the comments below.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. righteffort
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 21:00:23

    Go for it! You will meet amazing people!

  2. Jessica Vineyard
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 21:05:46

    Thank you! I am looking forward to a most amazing adventure. Thanks for your supportive words!

  3. Trackback: Seven Ways to Save for a RTW Journey | Around the World, Paleo Style
  4. Cary Hard
    Jan 26, 2015 @ 20:20:13

    That is going to be so cool. The way things are going around the World these days, your are one very BRAVE person. You are way smarter then 90% of the people on this Rock & I know you’ll do it an do it with class, style & your Worldly ways!
    Send me your mail address & I’ll put a 100 BILL in the Mail to help a touch :~}

  5. Jessica Vineyard
    Jan 26, 2015 @ 20:36:13

    Oh, Cary, that is so sweet! I will pm you later. I appreciate your show of support! Xoxo

  6. stevegee234
    Jan 27, 2015 @ 11:56:57

    Definitely stretching the hamstring of your comfort zone! Way to go!

  7. Jessica Vineyard
    Jan 27, 2015 @ 12:01:32

    Thanks, friend!

Please follow me at http://vagabondqueentravels.com/

